Agency history, 1963-

Usage Conditions Apply
The Smithsonian Institution Archives welcomes personal and educational use of its collections unless otherwise noted. For commercial uses, please contact

Narrow Your Results


Filter Your Results

Smithsonian Secretaries Information

Close Browse records and papers of the Smithsonian Secretaries, from 1846 until today. Pre-set filters help narrow searches by individuals who have held that office.

Expeditions Information

Close Browse records and papers documenting scientific and collecting expeditions either affiliated with the Smithsonian, or with which Smithsonian researchers participated. Pre-set filters help narrow searches by geographic regions predominantly represented in expedition records.

Professional Societies Information

Close Browse records of professional societies closely associated with the Smithsonian, that focus on areas of scientific research and museum studies. Pre-set filters help narrow searches by major topics and disciplines.


  • Fitzhugh, William W. 1943-
  • Harasewych, M. G
  • Zeder, Melinda A
  • DePriest, Paula T
  • Taylor, Paul Michael 1953-
  • Labandeira, Conrad Christopher 1950-
  • Eyde, Richard H
  • Sorensen, Sorena Svea 1956-
  • Norris, James N
  • Melson, William G. 1938-
  • Wing, Scott L
  • Funk, V. A (Vicki A.) 1947-
  • Kensley, Brian Frederick
  • Zug, George R. 1938-
  • Thorington, Richard W
  • Heyer, W. Ronald
  • Mathis, Wayne N
  • Manning, Raymond B (Raymond Brendan) 1934-2000
  • Pawson, David L (David Leo) 1938-
  • Viola, Herman J
  • Kauffman, Erle G (Erle Galen) 1933-
  • Duckworth, W. Donald
  • Gibson, Gordon D (Gordon Davis) 1915-2007
  • Boardman, Richard S
  • Clarke, Roy S
  • Hueber, Francis M
  • Evans, Clifford 1920-1981
  • Buzas, Martin A
  • Roper, Clyde F. E. 1937-
  • Waller, Thomas R
  • Hope, W. Duane 1935-
  • Ortner, Donald J
  • Jones, Meredith L
  • Pierce, J. W (Jack Warren) 1927-
  • Schultz, Theodore R
  • Behrensmeyer, Anna K
  • Parenti, Lynne R
  • Wen, Jun 1963-
  • Hershler, Robert
  • Braun, Michael J
  • Hunt, Gene 1973-
  • Cottrell, Elizabeth
  • Pyenson, Nick


Agency History


  • This is an agency history. It does not describe actual records. The Smithsonian Institution Archives uses these histories as brief accounts of the origin, development, and functions of an office or administrative unit to set that unit in its historical context. To find information on record holdings, please double-click the highlighted field "Creator/Author", which will open on a brief view of relevant records.
  • Guide to the Smithsonian Archives, 1996
  • E-mail, Richard Vari to James Steed, February 26, 2002
  • Accession 97-009, box 8
  • Raymond B. Manning Papers, box 2, minutes of the annual meeting, Senate of Scientists, October 28, 1987
  • Senate of Scientists - Minutes and Chairs' Reports, Darwin Intranet, National Museum of Natural History,, accessed August 12, 2021.
  • In 1963, the Senate of Scientists was established by the scientific research staff of the National Museum of Natural History (NMNH) to address their professional concerns. Modeled on faculty senates in universities, the Senate was structured to function as a source of collective opinion outside normal administrative channels. The Senate is managed by a council consisting of a chair, chair-elect, secretary, and one councilor elected by each curatorial department. Full membership in the Senate is restricted to scientists employed by NMNH, but associate membership is extended to research associates of the Museum and to scientists located in NMNH but employed by other government agencies. Significant issues addressed by the Senate have included issues of Smithsonian governance, library service, parking policies, off-mall storage and curatorial facilities, technical assistance, automated data processing facilities, funding for systematics research, and publications policies. In addition, the Senate has served as a stimulus to collegiality within NMNH, through its publications, seminars, teas, and dinner forums.
  • Chairs of the Senate of Scientists have included Gordon D. Gibson, 1963-1964; Richard S. Boardman, 1964-1965, 1978-1979; W. Donald Duckworth, 1965-1966; Roy S. Clarke, 1966-1967; Francis M. Hueber, 1967-1968; Clifford Evans, 1968-1970; Martin A. Buzas, 1970-1971; Clyde F. E. Roper, 1971-1972; Thomas R. Waller, 1972-1973; W. Duane Hope, 1973-1974; Erle G. Kauffman, 1974-1975; Donald J. Ortner, 1975-1976; Richard H. Eyde, 1976-1977; Meredith L. Jones, 1977-1978; J. W. Pierce, 1979-1980; Herman J. Viola, 1980-1981; W. Ronald Heyer, 1981-1982; David L. Pawson, 1982-1983; William G. Melson, 1983-1984; Richard W. Thorington, 1984-1985; George R. Zug, 1985-1986; Raymond B. Manning, 1986-1987; Martin A. Buzas, 1987-1988; Brian Frederick Kensley, 1988-1989; Paul Michael Taylor, 1990-1991; V. A. Funk, 1991-1992; James N. Norris, 1992-1993; Wayne N. Mathis, 1993-1994; Scott L. Wing, 1994-1995; Conrad Christopher Labandeira, 1995-1996; Sorena Svea Sorensen, 1996-1997; Melinda A. Zeder, 1997-1998; Paula T. DePriest, 1998-1999; M. G. Harasewych, 1999-2000; William W. Fitzhugh, 2000-2001; Theodore R. Schultz, 2010-2011; Anna K. Behrensmeyer, 2011-2012; Lynne R. Parenti, 2012-2013; Chris Meyer, 2013-2014; Jun Wen, 2014-2015; Robert Hershler, 2015-2016; Michael J. Braun, 2016-2018; Gene Hunt, 2018-2019; Elizabeth Cottrell, 2019-2020; Nick Pyenson, 2020-2021; and Rick Potts, 2021- .
  • For a history of the larger creating unit, refer to "Forms part of" above.

Repository Loc.

Smithsonian Institution Archives, Capital Gallery, Suite 3000, MRC 507; 600 Maryland Avenue, SW; Washington, DC 20024-2520


  • 1963
  • 1963-


  • Personnel management
  • Employees
  • Museums
  • Scientists
  • Museums--Employees


United States


Mixed archival materials

Local number

SIA AH00064

Full Record

View Full Record