Chairmen's Records, 1963-1987

Usage Conditions Apply
The Smithsonian Institution Archives welcomes personal and educational use of its collections unless otherwise noted. For commercial uses, please contact

Narrow Your Results


Filter Your Results

Smithsonian Secretaries Information

Close Browse records and papers of the Smithsonian Secretaries, from 1846 until today. Pre-set filters help narrow searches by individuals who have held that office.

Expeditions Information

Close Browse records and papers documenting scientific and collecting expeditions either affiliated with the Smithsonian, or with which Smithsonian researchers participated. Pre-set filters help narrow searches by geographic regions predominantly represented in expedition records.

Professional Societies Information

Close Browse records of professional societies closely associated with the Smithsonian, that focus on areas of scientific research and museum studies. Pre-set filters help narrow searches by major topics and disciplines.


Consists of records documenting the establishment and activities of the Senate of Scientists under the chairmanships of Gordon D. Gibson, 1963-1964; Richard S. Boardman, 1964-1965, 1978-1979; W. Donald Duckworth, 1965-1966; Roy S. Clarke, 1966- 1967; Francis M. Hueber, 1967-1968; Clifford Evans, 1968-1970; Martin A. Buzas, 1970-1971; Clyde F. E. Roper, 1971-1972; Thomas R. Waller, 1972-1973; W. Duane Hope, 1973-1974; Erle G. Kauffman, 1974-1975; Donald J. Ortner, 1976-1976; Richard H. Eyde, 1976-1977; Meredith L. Jones, 1977-1978; Jack W. Pierce, 1979-1980; Herman J. Viola, 1980-1981; W. Ronald Heyer, 1981- 1982; David L. Pawson, 1982-1983; William G. Melson, 1983-1984; Richard W. Thorington, 1984-1985; George R. Zug, 1985-1986; and Raymond B. Manning, 1986-1987. Materials include constitutions and amendments; committee files; minutes of council and annual meetings; records concerning dinner forums, seminars, and other Senate events; membership records; files concerning Senate publications; project files; and photographs of Senate members.


  • Boardman, Richard S
  • Duckworth, W. Donald
  • Clarke, Roy S
  • Hueber, Francis M
  • Evans, Clifford 1920-1981
  • Buzas, Martin A
  • Roper, Clyde F. E. 1937-
  • Waller, Thomas R
  • Hope, W. Duane 1935-
  • Kauffman, Erle G (Erle Galen) 1933-
  • Ortner, Donald J
  • Eyde, Richard H
  • Jones, Meredith L
  • Pierce, J. W (Jack Warren) 1927-
  • Heyer, W. Ronald
  • Pawson, David L (David Leo) 1938-
  • Melson, William G. 1938-
  • Thorington, Richard W
  • Zug, George R. 1938-
  • Manning, Raymond B (Raymond Brendan) 1934-2000
  • Gibson, Gordon D (Gordon Davis) 1915-2007
  • Viola, Herman J


Series Level Description


  • To view records that comprise this series, see the detailed list of accessions and/or record units below.
  • For a history of the creating unit, refer to "Forms part of" above.


Chronologic by Chairman and unarranged

Repository Loc.

Smithsonian Institution Archives, Capital Gallery, Suite 3000, MRC 507; 600 Maryland Avenue, SW; Washington, DC 20024-2520


  • 1963
  • 1963-1987

Restrictions & Rights

Materials less than 15 years old Restricted. Contact reference staff for details


Natural history museums


  • Manuscripts
  • Color photographs
  • Black-and-white photographs

Local number

SIA RS00023

Physical description

6.5 cu. ft. processed holdings

Full Record

View Full Record