Subject Files, 1915-2018

Usage Conditions Apply
The Smithsonian Institution Archives welcomes personal and educational use of its collections unless otherwise noted. For commercial uses, please contact

Narrow Your Results


Filter Your Results

Expeditions Information

Close Browse records and papers documenting scientific and collecting expeditions either affiliated with the Smithsonian, or with which Smithsonian researchers participated. Pre-set filters help narrow searches by geographic regions predominantly represented in expedition records.


  • Consists of Office of the Director records documenting administration of the National Museum of American History (NMAH), Smithsonian-related issues, and professional activities during the tenures of Frank A. Taylor, 1958-1964; John Canfield Ewers, 1964-1965; Robert P. Multhauf, 1966-1968; Daniel J. Boorstin, 1969-1973; Brooke Hindle, 1974-1978; Roger G. Kennedy, 1979-1992; Spencer R. Crew, Acting Director, 1992-1994, and Director, 1994-2001; Marc Pachter, Acting Director, 2001-2002, 2011-2012; Brent D. Glass, 2002-2011; John Gray, 2012-2018; Susan Fruchter, Interim Director, 2018-2019; and Anthea M. Hartig, 2019- . Records predating 1958 document the administrations of William deC. Ravenel as Administrative Assistant to the Secretary, in charge of the United States National Museum, 1918-1925; and Alexander Wetmore and Remington Kellogg as Directors of the United States National Museum, 1925-1948 and 1948-1962, respectively.
  • Materials include correspondence and memoranda with educational institutions, government agencies, professional associations, scholars, domestic and foreign museums, and NMAH curators; budget summaries; information pertaining to advisory councils, conferences, special events, lectures, and NMAH renovation planning; NMAH policies and organization information; reports; accreditation records; meeting agendas and minutes; fundraising information; blueprints and photographs of the Museum's facilities; articles and clippings; collections management information; proposals; contractural agreements; statistical information; evaluations; archetectural drawings; exhibition photographs, floor plans, and scripts; NMAH board information; notes; and supporting documentation. Some records are in electronic format.


  • Crew, Spencer R. 1949-
  • Taylor, Frank A (Frank Augustus) 1903-2007
  • Multhauf, Robert P
  • Boorstin, Daniel J (Daniel Joseph) 1914-2004
  • Hindle, Brooke
  • Kennedy, Roger G
  • Ewers, John C (John Canfield) 1909-1997
  • Kellogg, Remington 1892-1969
  • Wetmore, Alexander 1886-1978
  • Glass, Brent D
  • Ravenal, William de C
  • Gray, John
  • Pachter, Marc
  • Fruchter, Susan
  • Hartig, Anthea M
  • United States National Museum


Series Level Description


  • To view records that comprise this series, see the detailed list of accessions and/or record units below.
  • For a history of the creating unit, refer to "Forms part of" above.


Alphabetic and unarranged

Repository Loc.

Smithsonian Institution Archives, Capital Gallery, Suite 3000, MRC 507; 600 Maryland Avenue, SW; Washington, DC 20024-2520


  • 1915
  • 1915-2018

Restrictions & Rights

Materials less than 15 years old Restricted. Contact reference staff for details


  • Public relations
  • Budget process
  • Architecture
  • Lectures and lecturing
  • Repair and reconstruction
  • Historical museums
  • Museums
  • Science museums
  • Fund raising
  • Contracts
  • Museums--Administration
  • Museum directors
  • Museums--Collection management
  • Museums--Public relations
  • Buildings--Repair and reconstruction
  • Museum exhibits


  • Audiotapes
  • Books
  • Clippings
  • Manuscripts
  • Black-and-white photographs
  • Brochures
  • Floor plans
  • Architectural drawings
  • Electronic records
  • Color photographs
  • Exhibition catalogs
  • Drawings
  • Compact discs
  • Digital images

Local number

SIA RS00342

Physical description

  • 133.43 cu. ft. processed holdings
  • 109 cu. ft. unprocessed holdings

Full Record

View Full Record