Agency history, 1963-

Usage Conditions Apply
The Smithsonian Institution Archives welcomes personal and educational use of its collections unless otherwise noted. For commercial uses, please contact

Narrow Your Results


Filter Your Results

Smithsonian Secretaries Information

Close Browse records and papers of the Smithsonian Secretaries, from 1846 until today. Pre-set filters help narrow searches by individuals who have held that office.

Expeditions Information

Close Browse records and papers documenting scientific and collecting expeditions either affiliated with the Smithsonian, or with which Smithsonian researchers participated. Pre-set filters help narrow searches by geographic regions predominantly represented in expedition records.

Professional Societies Information

Close Browse records of professional societies closely associated with the Smithsonian, that focus on areas of scientific research and museum studies. Pre-set filters help narrow searches by major topics and disciplines.


  • Switzer, George S (George Shirley) 1915-2008
  • Mason, Brian (Brian Harold) 1917-2009
  • Melson, William G. 1938-
  • Fudali, Robert F
  • Post, Jeffrey Edward
  • MacPherson, Glenn J
  • Appleman, Daniel E


Agency History


  • This is an agency history. It does not describe actual records. The Smithsonian Institution Archives uses these histories as brief accounts of the origin, development, and functions of an office or administrative unit to set that unit in its historical context. To find information on record holdings, please double-click the highlighted field "Creator/Author", which will open on a brief view of relevant records.
  • Guide to the Smithsonian Archives
  • Annual Report of the Smithsonian Institution
  • Smithsonian Year
  • The Department of Mineral Sciences was created in 1963 as part of a reorganization in the Museum of Natural History. At that time, the Department of Geology was divided into two new departments--Mineral Sciences and Paleobiology. The former Division of Mineralogy and Petrology, Department of Geology, became the new Department of Mineral Sciences. Divisions of Mineralogy and Meteorites were created within the new Department. In 1964, a Division of Petrology was established. Its name was changed to the Division of Petrology and Volcanology in 1973. The same year, a Physical Sciences Laboratory was established, and in 1989 the Global Volcanology Program was created within the Department.
  • Chairmen of the Department of Mineral Sciences have included George Switzer, 1963-1968; Brian Harold Mason, 1968-1973; William G. Melson, 1973-1978; Daniel E. Appleman, 1978-1982; Robert F. Fudali, 1983-1988; Daniel E. Appleman, 1989; Jeffrey Edward Post, 1990-1995; and Glenn J. MacPherson, 1995- .
  • For a history of the larger creating unit, refer to "Forms part of" above.

Repository Loc.

Smithsonian Institution Archives, Capital Gallery, Suite 3000, MRC 507; 600 Maryland Avenue, SW; Washington, DC 20024-2520


  • 1963
  • 1963-


  • Petrology
  • Meteorites
  • Geology
  • Mineralogy
  • Volcanology


Mixed archival materials

Local number

SIA AH00039

Full Record

View Full Record