Natural History Building Ground Breaking, by Unknown, 1904, Smithsonian Archives - History Div, Ground breaking for the new United States National Museum Building, now the National Museum of Natural History, June 15, 1904. Included in the picture are: Secretary Samuel P. Langley, Assistant Secretary Richard Rathbun, J. S. Goldsmith, Bernard R. Green, J. C. Hornblower (Architect), George C. Maynard, Guard Captain Dolah, R.I. Geare, Mrs. M. J. Spottswood, and Mrs. Paul Banerett..