Conference on the Future of the Smithsonian Institution Is Held, February 11, 1927, Smithsonian Archives - History Div, A Conference on the Future of the Smithsonian Institution is convened in the Smithsonian "Castle" on February 11, 1927, by the Smithsonian Board of Regents "to advise with reference to the future policy and field of service of the Smithsonian Institution." William Howard Taft, Chancellor of the Board of Regents, presides, with assistance from Assistant Secretaries Charles G. Abbot and Alexander Wetmore. Regents are Chief Justice Taft, Vice President Dawes, Reed Smoot, George Wharton Pepper, Woodbridge N. Ferris, Albert Johnson, R. Walton Moore, Walter H. Newton, Charles F. Choate, Jr., Henry White, Robert S. Brookings, Irwin B. Laughlin, Frederic A. Delano, and Dwight W. Morrow., The conference is attended by member of the Establishment, Calvin Coolidge, President; Charles G. Dawes, Vice President; Frank B. Kellogg, Secretary of State; Andrew W. Mellon, Secretary of the Treasury; Dwight Filley Davis, Secretary of War; John G. Sargent, Attorney General; Harry S. New, Postmaster General; Curtis D. Wilbur, Secretary of the Navy; Hubert Work, Secretary of the Interior; William M. Jardine, Secretary of Agriculture; Herbert Clark Hoover, Secretary of Commerce; and James John Davis, Secretary of Labor., The conferees are Edwin A. Alderman, president, University of Virginia; Hiram Bingham, Connecticut; Robert W. Bingham, Kentucky; Charles F. Brush, Ohio; Anson W. Burchard, New York; W. W. Campbell, president, University of California; Asa G. Candler, Jr., Georgia; Emory W. Clark, Michigan; Charles R. Crisp, Georgia; Harvey S. Firestone, Ohio; Simon Flexner, director, Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research; L. A. Frothingham, Massachusetts; Alvan T. Fuller, Massachusetts; Elbert H. Gary, New York; Walter S. Gifford, New York; Chauncey J. Hamlin, New York; Charles Hayden, New York; Cordell Hull, Tennessee; Robert P. Lamont, Illinois; Nicholas Longworth, Ohio; H. M. Lord, Maine; John C. Merriam, president, Carnegie Institution; Jesse H. Metcalf, Rhode Island., Also A. A. Michelson, president, National Academy of Sciences; Ogden L. Mills, New York; Henry Fairfield Osborn, president, American Museum of Natural History; Edwin B. Parker, Texas; John Poole, District of Columbia; John J. Raskob, Delaware; Samuel Rea, Pennsylvania; Edgar Rickard, New York; Henry M. Robinson, California; William B. Storey, Illinois; S. W. Stratton, president, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Silas H. Strawn, Illinois; George E. Vincent, president, Rockefeller Foundation; William Henry Welch, director, School of Hygiene and Public Health, Johns Hopkins University; and Robert Winsor, Massachusetts..