National Air and Space Museum Groundbreaking Ceremony, , Smithsonian Institution Archives, Groundbreaking ceremony for the National Air and Space Museum (NASM) building, with address and introduction by Secretary S. Dillon Ripley and remarks by Chief Justice Warren E. Burger. Also in attendance are Mary Livingston Ripley, Senators J. William Fulbright, Barry Goldwater, Jennings Randolph, Michael Collins, NASM Director, Melvin B. Zisfein, NASM Deputy Director, Dr. Leonard Carmichael, seventh Smithsonian Secretary, Paul E. Garber, first head of the National Air Museum, and the United States Air Force Band..