(left to right): Isaiah Bowman (1878-1950), Robert Andrews Millikan (1868-1953), Karl Taylor Compton (1887-1954), Charles Kenneth Leith (1875-1956), William Wallace Campbell (1862-1938), Frank B. Jewett (1879-1949), John Campbell Merriam (1869-1945), 8-22-1933, Smithsonian Institution Archives, Members of the President's Science Advisory Board, at their first meeting on August 21, 1933. Geographer Isaiah Bowman (1878-1950) was President of Johns Hopkins University; Robert Andrews Millikan (1868-1953) was professor of physics at California Institute of Technology; physicist Karl Taylor Compton (1887-1954) was President of MIT; geologist Charles Kenneth Leith (1875-1956) was a professor of geology at University of Wisconsin; astronomer William Wallace Campbell (1862-1938) was at the Lick Observatory; physicist Frank B. Jewett (1879-1949) was President of Bell Laboratories; paleontologist John Campbell Merriam (1869-1945) was President of Carnegie Institution..