Hall of Gems and Minerals Opens

Print

Narrow Your Results

Reset

Filter Your Results

Smithsonian Secretaries Information

Close Browse records and papers of the Smithsonian Secretaries, from 1846 until today. Pre-set filters help narrow searches by individuals who have held that office.

Expeditions Information

Close Browse records and papers documenting scientific and collecting expeditions either affiliated with the Smithsonian, or with which Smithsonian researchers participated. Pre-set filters help narrow searches by geographic regions predominantly represented in expedition records.

Professional Societies Information

Close Browse records of professional societies closely associated with the Smithsonian, that focus on areas of scientific research and museum studies. Pre-set filters help narrow searches by major topics and disciplines.
 

Summary

The newly modernized Hall of Gems and Minerals in the Natural History Building is dedicated by Secretary Leonard Carmichael. Mrs. William F. Foshag, wife of the late curator of geology, cuts the ribbon. Later that year, the newly acquired Hope Diamond, a 44.5 carat blue diamond, was placed on display, spotlighted against a dark-red velvet in "a centrally located, specifically designed case," and immediately became the highlight of the hall.

Subject

  • Foshag, Merle Crisler
  • Carmichael, Leonard 1898-1973
  • Winston, Harry 1896-1978
  • Exhibits Modernization Program United States National Museum
  • Hall of Gems and Minerals (Exhibition) (1958: United States National Museum)
  • National Museum of Natural History (U.S.) Dept. of Mineral Sciences
  • National Museum of Natural History (U.S.)
  • United States National Museum
  • Natural History Building

Category

Chronology of Smithsonian History

Notes

  • The Hope Diamond was received by the National Museum on July 17, 1958 and formally donated to the Smithsonian by gem merchant Harry Winston on November 10, 1958.
  • Annual Report of the Smithsonian Institution for the year 1959, p. 45.

Contact information

Institutional History Division, Smithsonian Institution Archives, 600 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20024-2520, SIHistory@si.edu

Date

July 31, 1958

Topic

  • Exhibit openings
  • Secretaries
  • Gems
  • Openings
  • Hope diamond
  • Exhibitions
  • Buildings
  • Repair and reconstruction
  • Buildings--Repair and reconstruction

Full Record

View Full Record