Regents of the Smithsonian Institution: Biographical Notices by William Jones Rhees

Usage Conditions Apply
The Smithsonian Institution Archives welcomes personal and educational use of its collections unless otherwise noted. For commercial uses, please contact


An alphabetical listing of 129 Regents with state affiliation, dates of appointment, and, if applicable, reelection, dates and places of birth, education, military experience and prominent positions held.


  • Dallas, George Mifflin 1792-1864
  • Fillmore, Millard 1800-1874
  • Taney, Roger Brooke 1777-1864
  • Chase, Salmon Portland
  • Waite, Morrison R (Morrison Remick) 1816-1888
  • Owen, Robert Dale 1801-1877
  • Garfield, James A (James Abram) 1831-1881
  • Sherman, William T (William Tecumseh) 1820-1891
  • Bancroft, George 1800-1891
  • Gray, Asa 1810-1888
  • Agassiz, Louis 1807-1873
  • Welling, James C (James Clarke) 1825-1894
  • Fuller, Melville Weston 1833-1910
  • Board of Regents
  • United States Congress
  • Chancellor of the Smithsonian Board of Regents


Smithsonian Institution History Bibliography


Also includes portraits of Chancellors George Mifflin Dallas, Millard Fillmore, Roger Brooke Taney, Salmon Portland Chase, Morrison Remick Waite, and Melville Weston Fuller, Regents Robert Dale Owen, James Abram Garfield, William Tecumseh Sherman, George Bancroft, Asa Gray, Louis Agassiz and James Clarke Welling.

Contained within

The Smithsonian Institution, 1846-1896, The History of its First Half Century (Book)

Contact information

Institutional History Division, Smithsonian Institution Archives, 600 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20024-2520,





Physical description

pp. 80-114

Full Record

View Full Record