Regents Create Board of Trustees, AfA

Usage Conditions Apply
The Smithsonian Institution Archives welcomes personal and educational use of its collections unless otherwise noted. For commercial uses, please contact


The Board of Regents appoints a 10-member Board of Trustees of the Museum of African Art. Those chosen to three year terms as Museum of African Art Commission members were former Sen. Frank Moss, John B. Duncan, Robert Nooter, Franklin Williams, Thomas Schwab, David Driskell, Sen. S.I. Hayakawa, Lee Bronson, Carl Freeman and Frances Humphrey Howard.


  • Bronson, Lee
  • Driskell, David C
  • Duncan, John B
  • Freeman, Carl
  • Hayakawa, S. I (Samuel Ichiyé) 1906-
  • Howard, Frances Humphrey
  • Moss, Frank E. 1911-
  • Nooter, Robert
  • Schwab, Thomas J. 1927-
  • Williams, Franklin
  • Board of Regents


Chronology of Smithsonian History


  • Torch, 11/1979, p. 4
  • Annual Report of the Smithsonian Institution for the year 1979, p. 26

Contact information

Institutional History Division, Smithsonian Institution Archives, 600 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20024-2520,


September 17, 1979


  • Trusts and trustees
  • New Programs

Full Record

View Full Record