Smithsonian Institution, Board of Regents, Minutes, 1856

Usage Conditions Apply
The Smithsonian Institution Archives welcomes personal and educational use of its collections unless otherwise noted. For commercial uses, please contact


  • Members of the Board: Roger B. Taney, John T. Towers, James A. Pearce, Stephen A. Douglas, James M. Mason, William H. English, James Meacham, Alexander Dallas Bache, Joseph G. Totten, Gideon Hawley, and Richard Rush. Members present and absent not recorded.
  • Mr. Rush was requested to take the chair. The Secretary stated that, owing to the House of representatives not having elected a Speaker, no Regents had yet been appointed to fill the vacancies on the Board from that body. There being no quorum present, the Board adjourned to meet on Saturday, January 12, at 12pm.


  • English, William Hayden
  • Mason, James Murray
  • Totten, Joseph Gilbert 1788-1864
  • Towers, John Thomas 1811-1857
  • Hawley, Gideon 1785-1870
  • Pearce, James Alfred
  • Douglas, Stephen Arnold
  • Bache, A. D (Alexander Dallas) 1806-1867
  • Henry, Joseph 1797-1878
  • Rush, Richard 1780-1859
  • Taney, Roger Brooke 1777-1864
  • Meacham, James C
  • Regents Smithsonian Institution
  • Board of Regents


Smithsonian Legal Documents

Legal document information

  • Regents Minutes
  • Board of Regents - Minutes of Meetings, 1846-

Contained within

Smithsonian Institution Archives, Record Unit 1, Board of Regents Vol. 1 (Bound volume)

Contact information

Institutional History Division, Smithsonian Institution Archives, 900 Jefferson Drive, SW, Washington, D.C. 20013-7012,


  • 1879
  • January 2, 1856


Board of Regents


  • Procedures
  • Meeting schedule
  • Board of Regents

Physical description

Number of pages: 1; Page numbers: 558

Full Record

View Full Record