Smithsonian Institution, Board of Regents, Minutes, 1847

Usage Conditions Apply
The Smithsonian Institution Archives welcomes personal and educational use of its collections unless otherwise noted. For commercial uses, please contact


  • Present: George M. Dallas, William W. Seaton, William J. Hough, Henry W. Hilliard, Alexander Dallas Bache, Joseph G. Totten, and Rufus Choate. Also Present: Joseph Henry. The members not present were Roger B. Taney, James A. Pearce, Lewis Cass, Sidney Breese, Robert Dale Owen, Gideon Hawley, Richard Rush, and William C. Preston.
  • The Secretary presented "various letters from individuals and societies" commending the plan of the Institution given in the "programme presented by him to the Board in his report." The chancellor presented a letter from Peter A. Brown regarding an "appropriation of funds" to Dr. Dickerson for "ethnological explorations." The secretary presented a letter from Professor Jewett with suggestions related to the formation of a library. The board proceeded to consider the resolutions presented by the Executive Committee on December 15th and then adjourned until 7:30 that evening. When the board resumed, Robert Dale Owen and Sidney Breese were present. Mr. Seaton took the chair in the absence of Mr. Dallas.
  • The board then adopted the resolutions appended to the report of the Executive Committee "relative to the expenditure up to the 19th of March, 1852. The board resolved that the secretary inform the assistant secretary that the board will expect him to begin his duties on March 19, 1849, when his salary will commence; that a committee of three be appointed by the chancellor to work with the secretary and report back at the next meeting their recommendations for "what services may be rendered by the Assistant Secretary, acting as librarian" between then and March 19, 1849 and an estimate as to the cost of these services. The board then adjourned to meet the next day at 10:00 AM.


  • Seaton, William Winston 1785-1866
  • Totten, Joseph Gilbert 1788-1864
  • Bache, A. D (Alexander Dallas) 1806-1867
  • Dallas, George Mifflin 1792-1864
  • Hough, William Jervis 1795-1869
  • Hilliard, Henry W (Henry Washington) 1808-1892
  • Choate, Rufus, 1799-1859
  • Jewett, Charles C (Charles Coffin) 1816-1868
  • Henry, Joseph 1797-1878
  • Breese, Sidney 1800-1878
  • Owen, Robert Dale 1801-1877
  • Brown, Peter A
  • Dickerson, Dr
  • Cass, Lewis
  • Hawley, Gideon 1785-1870
  • Pearce, James Alfred
  • Rush, Richard 1780-1859
  • Taney, Roger Brooke 1777-1864
  • Preston, William C. 1794-1860
  • Board of Regents
  • Smithsonian Institution Libraries (SIL)
  • Board of Regents Executive Committee
  • Board of Regents Special Committee
  • Assistant Secretary in charge of the Library
  • Programme of Organization
  • Regents Smithsonian Institution


Smithsonian Legal Documents

Legal document information

  • 1847/12/21 Regents Minutes
  • Board of Regents - Minutes of Meetings, 1846-

Contained within

Smithsonian Institution Archives, Record Unit 1, Board of Regents Vol. 1 (Bound volume)

Contact information

Institutional History Division, Smithsonian Institution Archives, 600 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20024-2520,


  • 1879
  • December 21, 1847


Publishers and publishing


Board of Regents

Physical description

Number of pages: 2; Page numbers: 45-46

Full Record

View Full Record