Smithsonian Institution, Board of Regents, Minutes, 1846

Usage Conditions Apply
The Smithsonian Institution Archives welcomes personal and educational use of its collections unless otherwise noted. For commercial uses, please contact


  • Present: George M. Dallas, William W. Seaton, George Evans, Isaac S. Pennybacker, Sidney Breese, Robert Dale Owen, William J. Hough, Henry W. Hilliard, Richard Rush, Gideon Hawley, Alexander Dallas Bache, Joseph G. Totten, Rufus Choate. The members not present were Roger Brooke Taney and William C. Preston.
  • Mr. Owen presented various applications for the office of secretary, a letter from A. Randall of St. Louis requesting a longer period of time to submit architectural plans, and a letter from Nahun Capen of Boston suggesting the formation of a statistical department in the Institution. Mr. Bache presented a paper from the American Philosophical Society recommending Titian R. Peale for secretary. A motion was made by Mr. Breese to reconsider the vote by which the board adopted the resolution selecting a building site; after debate, the motion was postponed until the following day. The resolutions reported the previous day by Mr. Owen on behalf of the Committee on Organization were again postponed until the following day after Mr. Choate stated that he wished to examine the report accompanying the resolutions. The board resolved to elect a secretary at 1:00 PM the following day and adjourned until the following day at 12:00 PM.


  • Pennybacker, Isaac Samuels 1805-1847
  • Seaton, William Winston 1785-1866
  • Totten, Joseph Gilbert 1788-1864
  • Bache, A. D (Alexander Dallas) 1806-1867
  • Breese, Sidney 1800-1878
  • Dallas, George Mifflin 1792-1864
  • Hough, William Jervis 1795-1869
  • Hilliard, Henry W (Henry Washington) 1808-1892
  • Owen, Robert Dale 1801-1877
  • Rush, Richard 1780-1859
  • Hawley, Gideon 1785-1870
  • Peale, Titian Ramsay
  • Capen, Nahum 1804-1886
  • Randall, A
  • Evans, George 1797-1867
  • Choate, Rufus, 1799-1859
  • Taney, Roger Brooke 1777-1864
  • Preston, William C. 1794-1860
  • Board of Regents
  • American Philosophical Society
  • Smithsonian Institution Building Early History
  • Board of Regents Committee on Buildings
  • Board of Regents Special Committee
  • Board of Regents Executive Committee Committee on Organization


Smithsonian Legal Documents

Legal document information

  • 1846/12/02 Regents Minutes
  • Board of Regents - Minutes of Meetings, 1846-

Contained within

Smithsonian Institution Archives, Record Unit 1, Board of Regents Vol. 1 (Bound volume)

Contact information

Institutional History Division, Smithsonian Institution Archives, 600 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20024-2520,


  • 1879
  • December 2, 1846


  • Design
  • Secretariats
  • Architects
  • Architecture
  • Secretaries
  • Regents
  • Architectural design


Board of Regents

Physical description

Number of pages: 2; Page numbers: 9-10

Full Record

View Full Record