Departmental Records, 1954-1992

Usage Conditions Apply
The Smithsonian Institution Archives welcomes personal and educational use of its collections unless otherwise noted. For commercial uses, please contact


Consists of records documenting the relationship between the Director's Office and the curatorial departments of the National Museum of American History during the tenures of Directors Frank A. Taylor, 1958-1964; John Canfield Ewers, 1964-1965; Robert P. Multhauf, 1966-1968; Daniel J. Boorstin, 1969-1973; Brooke Hindle, 1974-1978; and Roger G. Kennedy, 1979-1992.Materials predating 1958 partially cover the administration of Remington Kellogg as Director of the United States National Museum, 1948-1962. Materials concern collection acquisitions and loans, special programs, exhibitions, external fund raising, Museum policies and procedures, and other projects, and include correspondence and memoranda, photographs, blueprints, and exhibition floor plans.


  • Taylor, Frank A (Frank Augustus) 1903-2007
  • Multhauf, Robert P
  • Boorstin, Daniel J (Daniel Joseph) 1914-2004
  • Hindle, Brooke
  • Kennedy, Roger G
  • Ewers, John C (John Canfield) 1909-1997
  • Kellogg, Remington 1892-1969
  • United States National Museum


Series Level Description


  • To view records that comprise this series, see the detailed list of accessions and/or record units below.
  • For a history of the creating unit, refer to "Forms part of" above.


Alphabetic and by department

Repository Loc.

Smithsonian Institution Archives, Capital Gallery, Suite 3000, MRC 507; 600 Maryland Avenue, SW; Washington, DC 20024-2520


  • 1954
  • 1954-1992


  • Historical museums
  • Science museums



Local number

SIA RS00337

Physical description

  • 14.25 cu. ft. processed holdings
  • 1.5 cu. ft. unprocessed holdings

Full Record

View Full Record