National Museum of Natural History (U.S.) Dept. of Invertebrate Zoology

Usage Conditions Apply
The Smithsonian Institution Archives welcomes personal and educational use of its collections unless otherwise noted. For commercial uses, please contact

Narrow Your Results


Filter Your Results

Smithsonian Secretaries Information

Close Browse records and papers of the Smithsonian Secretaries, from 1846 until today. Pre-set filters help narrow searches by individuals who have held that office.

Expeditions Information

Close Browse records and papers documenting scientific and collecting expeditions either affiliated with the Smithsonian, or with which Smithsonian researchers participated. Pre-set filters help narrow searches by geographic regions predominantly represented in expedition records.

Professional Societies Information

Close Browse records of professional societies closely associated with the Smithsonian, that focus on areas of scientific research and museum studies. Pre-set filters help narrow searches by major topics and disciplines.

Parent Organization

National Museum of Natural History (U.S.)


The Department of Invertebrate Zoology was created in 1965 by the separation of the Department of Zoology into vertebrate and invertebrate branches. The Divisions of Marine Invertebrates and Mollusks were under administrative control of the newly created Department of Invertebrate Zoology. On July 1, 1965, the Division of Marine Invertebrates was abolished and three new divisions were formed--Crustacea, Echinoderms, and Worms--and were joined with the existing Department of Mollusks to form the Department of Invertebrate Zoology. Chairmen of the Department of Invertebrate Zoology have included Donald Fleming Squires, 1965-1966; Joseph Rosewater, Acting Chairman, 1966; Raymond B. Manning, 1967-1971; David L. Pawson, 1971-1975; W. Duane Hope, 1975-1981; Clyde F. E. Roper, 1981-1985; Roger F. Cressey, 1985-1988; C.W. Hart, 1988-1991; Brian Frederick Kensley, 1991-1995; Kristian Fauchald, 1995-2001; David L. Pawson, 2001-2003; Robert Hershler, 2003-2004; Jonathan A. Coddington, 2004-2005; Rafael Lemaitre, 2005-2008; Stephen Cairns, 2011; and Jon L. Norenburg, 2011- .


  • SIA AH00020 [Agency History]





Organization name