## SMITHSONIAN INSTITUTION CHRONOLOGY

August 10, 1846	Smithsonian Act of Organization Passed
1846	Joseph Henry Elected First Smithsonian Secretary
1855	Smithsonian Building Completed
1858	Smithsonian Is Designated as the National Museum
1876	Centennial Exposition Collections Donated to Smithsonian
1878	Spencer Baird Elected Second Secretary
1879	Bureau of Ethnology Established at Smithsonian by Congress
1881	Arts and Industries Building Opened
1887	Samuel Langley Elected Third Secretary
1890	Astrophysical Observatory Established
1891	National Zoological Park Opened in the Valley of Rock Creek
1907	Charles D. Walcott Appointed Fourth Secretary
1910	Natural History Building Opened
1912	Helen Herron Taft Donated First of the "First Ladies Gowns"
1923	Freer Gallery of Art Opened
1928	Charles G. Abbot Appointed Fifth Secretary
1928	Spirit of St. Louis Donated to SI by Charles Lindbergh
1945	Alexander Wetmore Elected Sixth Secretary
1946	Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute Made Part of SI
1946	National Air Museum Established
1950	Smokey Bear Arrived at National Zoo
1952	Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Service Established
1953	Leonard Carmichael Elected Seventh Secretary
1958	Hope Diamond Donated to SI by Harry Winston
1959	Fenykovi Elephant Placed on Display in NMNH
1964	National Museum of American History Opened
1964	S. Dillon Ripley Became Eighth Secretary
1965	The Smithsonian Associates Founded
1965	Smithsonian Environmental Research Center Established

1967	First Festival of American Folklife Held on the National Mall
1967	Anacostia Museum Opened
1968	National Museum of American Art Opened in Old Patent Office Building
1968	National Portrait Gallery Opened in Old Patent Office Building
1969	Conservation Analytical Laboratory Established
1970	"Smithsonian" Magazine Began Publication
1970	Archives of American Art Became Part of Smithsonian
1971	Smithsonian Marine Station at Link Port Established
1972	Renwick Gallery Opened
1972	Giant Pandas Arrived at National Zoo
1974	Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden Opened
1975	Conservation & Research Center Established
1976	National Air & Space Museum Opened
1976	Cooper-Hewitt: The National Design Museum Reopened
1978	National Museum of African Art Established
1984	Robert McC. Adams Became Ninth Secretary
1987	Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Opened
1987	S. Dillon Ripley International Center Opened
1989	National Museum of the American Indian Established
1990	National Postal Museum Established
1994	I. Michael Heyman Became Tenth Secretary
2000	Lawrence M. Small Became Eleventh Secretary
2003	Udvar-Hazy Center of NASM Opened
2003	National Museum of African American History and Culture Established
2004	National Museum of the American Indian Opened
2007	Cristián Samper Appointed Acting Secretary
2008	G. Wayne Clough Became Twelfth Secretary