Guidelines for Smithsonian Networks Production Companies Working with
Archival Units at the Smithsonian Institution

Getting Started

  1. An initial consultation with archives’ staff early in your project is essential. Refer to the Guide to Smithsonian Institution Archives, Libraries and Special Collections for collection descriptions and basic contact information http://www.nmnh.si.edu/naa/siasc/. Please note that these guidelines apply only to producers working for, or under contract with, Smithsonian Networks LLC. Other production companies should refer to "Guidelines for Production Companies Working with Archival Units at the Smithsonian Institution."
  2. Many still images are available online through the Smithsonian Institution Research Information System http://www.siris.si.edu/. The Cross Catalog Searching Center http://siris-collections.si.edu/search/ is a good starting point where you can search for images only or see all listings for collections that include other documents and media.
  3. After you have conducted preliminary research, contact the staff at the archival unit or special collection where the materials are located and make an appointment with the appropriate archivist(s) before requesting materials for your production. Each archives operates independently within the Institution and, therefore, practices and procedures will vary from archives to archives.

Initial Consultation

Set up an initial consultation with the archives you think may have appropriate assets for your project. That way, staff will have time to prepare for your visit and have materials available for you to see. For your initial consultation with archives’ staff, please provide or be prepared to discuss the following:

  1. The timeline for your production: When is the rough cut due? When is the fine cut due?
  2. What is the focus of your project and how you think the archives can help?
  3. Who is the primary contact who will be managing the production?
  4. General requests for assistance will be attended to in the order they arrive. Staff is limited so production companies should allow as much as 10 working days for a response to a given request.

Access to materials

Costs and Rights Clearance

Contacts at Archival Units and Special Collections

Archives Center, National Museum of American History – Wendy Shay shayw@si.edu [see also FAQ]; or Kay Peterson petersonk@si.edu

Archives of American Art - Megan McShae McShaeM@si.edu

Archives of American Gardens

Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, National Museum of African Art – Amy Staples staplesam@si.edu or elisofonarchives@si.edu

Freer Gallery of Art & Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives, avref@asia.si.edu

Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden Archives

National Museum of the American Indian

National Air and Space Museum Archives

National Anthropological Archives (NAA) & Human Studies Film Archives (HSFA)

Ralph Rinzler Folklife Archives and Collections, Center for Folklife and Cultural Heriatge - rinzlerarchives@si.edu

Smithsonian American Art Museum Slide and Photo Archives - artref@si.edu

Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory

Smithsonian Institution Archives – Ellen Alers osiaref@si.edu

More Smithsonian Contacts for Commercial Licensing of Images

Anacostia Neighborhood Museum : Jennifer Morris morrisj@si.edu

Archives Center : Wendy Shay shayw@si.edu

Archives of American Art: Wendy Hurlock Baker hurlockbakerw@si.edu

Archives of American Gardens: http://www.gardens.si.edu/horticulture/contact.htm

Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum : Jill Bloomer bloomerj@si.edu

Freer & Sackler Galleries of Art: Cory Grace gracec@si.edu

Hirshhorn Museum : Amy Snyder snyder@si.edu

National Air and Space Museum Archives: Kate Igoe (still image) igoek@si.edu

National Air and Space Museum Archives: Mark Taylor (moving image) taylormr@si.edu

National Museum of African Art: http://www.nmnh.si.edu/naa/siasc/eepa_nmafa.htm

National Museum of American History: Michael Annan annanm@si.edu

National Museum of the American Indian: http://www.nmnh.si.edu/naa/siasc/nmai.htm Lou Stancari stancaril@si.edu

National Museum of Natural History:

Paleobiology: Raymond Rye ryre@si.edu

North American Mammals: Don Wilson wilsond@si.edu

Global Volcanism Program: Stacia Largen largens@si.edu

Botany: Rusty Russell russellr@si.edu

National Anthropological Archives/Human Studies Film Archives: Daisy Njoku njokud@si.edu

Handbook of American Indians: Joanna Scherer schererj@si.edu

Collections Manager: Carol Butler butlercr@si.edu / Sally Shelton sheltons@si.edu

Human Origins Program: Richard Potts pottsr@si.edu

Geology, Gems, and Minerals: Jeff Post postj@si.edu

Anthropology: Felicia Pickering pickerif@si.edu

National Portrait Gallery: Lizanne Garrett garrettl@si.edu

National Postal Museum : Jim O’Donnell odonnellja@si.edu

National Zoological Park : Sarah Taylor tailors@si.edu / John Gibbons gibbonsjp@si.edu

Smithsonian American Art Museum : Leslie Green greenlg@si.edu / Richard Sorensen rsorenso@si.edu

Smithsonian Center for Education and Museum Studies: Darren Milligan milligand@si.edu / Steve Binns sbinns@si.edu

Smithsonian Environmental Research Center : Kimbra Cutlip cutlipk@si.edu

Smithsonian Institution Archives: Ellen Alers osiaref@si.edu

Smithsonian Institution Books: Kate Antony antonyk@si.edu

Smithsonian Institution Folkways: Margot Nassau nassaum@si.edu

Smithsonian Institution Magazine: Andrea Georgiou georgiou@si.edu

Smithsonian Institution Website: Dennis Hasch haschd@si.edu

Smithsonian Institution Libraries: Erin Rushing rushinge@si.edu

SISP and Contributor’s Series: Debbie Stultz stultzd@si.edu

Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibition Service: Frederica Adelman adelmanf@si.edu

Smithsonian Photographic Services: photos@si.edu

 

Revised December 12, 2008